Sergio Piazza (vocals, flute)
Sandro Zane (organ, percussion, vocals)
Maurizio Rivoltella (harpsichord, clarinet, vocals)
Luciano Zanardo (bass, vocals)
Marino Rebeschini (drums, percussion)

A five-piece from Venice, Il Mucchio were active since 1970, releasing an album and three singles. Drummer Rebeschini had been in the first Le Orme line-up.
The group was produced and followed by a popular 60's singer, Pino Donaggio, who composed almost all their repertoire. The album, eight tracks for around 34 minutes, contains lightweight progressive, mainly based on a thin organ and a very melodic singing that give the sound a strong sixties flavour. A reworking of Schubert's Ave Maria was also included.
A small similarity with New Trolls in their multivocal parts, but definitely not a memorable album. 

Soon after the recording sessions for the album, the singer/flutist Sergio Piazza temporarily left the group to do his military service, and the others kept playing as a quartet, sharing the lead singer role.
The line-up then changed radically around the only remaining founders Zanardo and Rivoltella, with newcomers Roberto Fagotto (voice and guitar), Franco Carradori (drums) and keyboardist Luciano Basso (who later had a solo career). This line-up produced the later singles (from 1972 and 1973), which were in a similar vein, but with a more evident 70's prog feel in the arrangements and sounds, especially the last one Lei se ne andrà.
After tha last single the group had another line-up change, with the bass player Lucio Franchin, drummer Massimo Rizzotto and guitarist Franco Scoblar (the latter who replaced Basso), then the group broke up in 1975.

In 1995 Il Mucchio was reformed for a few concerts with three of the original members (Piazza, Zane e Zanardo), along with drummer Francesco Satini and singer/keyboardist Chiara Maccatrozzo. This line-up stayed together for around two years.
A different reincarnation of Il Mucchio, still active includes Roberto Fagotto and Luciano Zanardo along with Alessandro Viola (keyboards and vocals), Willy Lorenzon (vocals), Fabio Runello (guitar) and Matteo Regazzo (drums).


Il Mucchio Carosello (SCLN 25001) 1970 gatefold laminated cover
  BTF/VinylMagic (VM LP 186) 2016 reissue with gatefold cover and orange vinyl

Il Mucchio Mellow (MMP 166) 1993 reissue of 1970 album with 4 bonus tracks from singles
  BTF/VinylMagic (VM CD 186) 2016 as above with mini-LP gatefold cover

(with picture sleeve)
Per una libertÓ
Qualcuno ha ucciso
Carosello (CI 20270) 1970 both tracks from the album
Un'estate senza caldo
Quanto vuoto c'Ŕ
Carosello (CI 20270) 1972 both unreleased tracks
Lei se ne andrÓ
Il giullare
Carosello (CI 20358) 1973 both unreleased tracks


A very rare album, Il Mucchio had a gatefold laminated cover. It has been reissued for the first time in 2016 by BTF on orange vinyl.
The CD reissues made by Mellow and later BTF contain their entire production, with four bonus tracks taken from their last two singles.

Even the Korean CD issue on Si-Wan (SRMC 2017) contains the same four bonus tracks.
No counterfeit exists, nor foreign vinyl reissues.

Il Mucchio - LP

LP and single labels



Per una libertÓ - 7" single cover

Un'estate senza caldo - 7" single cover

Lei se ne andrÓ - 7" single cover


Thanks to Rockground ( for one of the pictures in this page, and to Sandro Zane, Massimo Rizzotto and Fabio Bello for information.